Toddler and Grandmother Killed in Tragic Hit and Run Crash
In one of the most tragic accidents in recent memory, a 64-year-old woman and her 2-year-old granddaughter died when their car was rear-ended. The San Diego Union Tribune reports that the driver who caused the accident, Grant Thoren, was found by police a few hours later and arrested on suspicion of two counts of murder and vehicular manslaughter. Thoren was allegedly driving under the influence of drugs at the time of the collision.
According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, hit and run drivers kill nearly 1,500 motorists every year – and the California Office of Traffic Safety reports that there were 307 hit and run collisions in San Diego in 2013 alone.
If you were hurt in a car accident in California, you may have grounds for a claim against the driver who caused the crash. Contact a San Diego personal-injury lawyer from Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates to discuss your case.
Our accident attorneys have been litigating personal-injury cases on behalf of California residents for almost 30 years. Call 855-290-8080 to schedule a free initial consultation. You can also read more about car accident injury claims by visiting USAttorneys.com.
What Should I Do after a Car Accident in California?
Even a slow speed wreck can cause serious injuries and property damage. If you were involved in a crash – even if you do not immediately notice the symptoms of an injury – it is important that you take steps to protect your interests. Call the police, take photos of the scene, gather witnesses’ contact details, and visit your doctor as soon as possible.
Perhaps most important, do not leave the crash scene before the police arrive.
Because car accidents are likely to cause injuries, California laws are strict on drivers who flee the scene of an accident. A hit and run driver will face significantly harsher penalties than someone who stops and stays at the crash site.
If you have been involved in an accident in California, it is important that you follow these 10 steps in order to stay within the bounds of the law and protect your interests:
- Pull over in a safe spot immediately;
- Check if other passengers have been injured;
- If necessary, call an ambulance;
- Call the police to report injuries and property damage;
- Stay at the scene until the authorities arrive;
- Speak to witnesses and exchange your contact information;
- Take pictures of the scene as evidence;
- Inform your insurance company as soon as possible;
- Keep receipts of your medical expenses;
- And contact an experienced accident attorney to discuss your legal options.
If you were involved in a hit and run accident in California, you may entitled to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages and non-economic damages. Contact Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates. An experienced San Diego personal-injury lawyer will help you pursue the maximum settlement.
Our car accident attorneys have recovered more than $150 million for our clients in successful settlements and verdicts. Call 855-290-8080 to schedule a free initial consultation.
Click here to read more accident blogs