Would I Be Liable for Damages If Another Person Crashes My Vehicle?
The laws that govern insurance liability vary from state to state. In California, the auto insurance policy of the vehicle – and not necessarily the driver – is usually considered the primary insurance in an accident. As such, if another person drives your car and causes a wreck, you or your insurance company will most likely be responsible for covering the damages.
Determining insurance liability is not always straightforward – especially when the at-fault driver is not the owner of the vehicle. If you were injured in a crash and you are not sure who is liable for your medical bills, lost income, and other damages, contact Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates.
Attorneys Alton J. Smith and Jeffrey E. Estes have more than 30 years of experience litigating personal injury cases. We have recovered more than $150 million for our clients. Call 855-290-8080 to schedule a free consultation with a car accident attorney in San Diego.
Do I Need to List Other People on My Insurance Policy?
The answer to this question depends on how often another person drives your vehicle. Anyone who drives your vehicle regularly – whether they are relatives, roommates, or neighbors – needs to be listed on your policy. This is true even if the person does not live in your household. However, if a person only occasionally drives your vehicle, he or she does not have to be listed on your policy. Contact your insurance provider if you are not sure whether another driver should be listed.
If a person who is listed on your policy causes an accident while driving your vehicle, he or she should be covered by your policy. If that person is not listed, the insurance company may challenge the claim if it has reason to believe that the person who caused the crash drives your vehicle regularly. Also, some insurance contracts state that they do not cover drivers who have multiple DUI convictions or other infractions on their record. If you lend your vehicle to such as person, your insurer will not cover the damages.
What If My Insurance Does Not Cover All of the Damages?
If another person crashes your vehicle and your insurance coverage is not enough to cover the damages, you may have to pay the difference out of your own pocket.
What Are the Minimum Insurance Requirements in California?
According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, all drivers in our state are required to carry auto insurance that meets the following minimums:
- $15,000 for injury or death of one person per accident;
- $30,000 for injury or death of two or more people per accident; and
- $5,000 for property damage per accident.
If you were injured in a car accident and you have questions about insurance liability, contact Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates. Both Jeffrey E. Estes and Alton J. Smith hold AV Preeminent ratings by the Martindale-Hubbell attorney rating service.
Call 855-290-8080 to schedule a free case evaluation with a personal injury lawyer in San Diego. You can learn more about car accident liability in California by visiting the USAttorneys website.